Quick Links

Quick Links

Earl Soham

Community Primary School

Google Services

Google Translate

Google Translate

Google Search

Google Search



The national curriculum for computing in England was introduced by the Department of Education in 2014. The curriculum aims to equip young people with the knowledge, skills and understanding they need to thrive in the digital world of today and the future. The curriculum can be broken down into 3 strands: computer science, information technology and digital literacy, with the aims of the curriculum reflecting this distinction.

The national curriculum for computing aims to ensure all pupils:

  • can understand and apply the fundamental principles and concepts of computer science, including abstraction, logic, algorithms and data representation (Computer science)
  • can analyse problems in computational terms, and have repeated practical experience of writing computer programs in order to solve such problems (Computer science)
  • can evaluate and apply information technology, including new or unfamiliar technologies, analytically to solve problems (Information technology)
  • are responsible, competent, confident and creative users of information and communication technology. (Digital literacy)


At Earl Soham Community Primary School we help to develop enthusiastic computer scientists who are able to apply the skills taught through our computing lessons, to present, compute and create.


We use Barefoot Computing to provide a varied and high quality scheme of computing lessons which build upon skills and set challenging tasks to apply skills in a practical way. 

The key stage 1 and 2 computer science strands of the English computing curriculum provided the foundation for development of the Barefoot resources, and as such there is direct coverage of this area of the curriculum. More recent resources also cover elements of the information technology and digital literacy aspects of computing. In addition, the Barefoot resources are cross-curricular, making a broad range of links with other subjects from the English national curriculum. 

Key Stage 1 statements

Pupils should be taught to:


Key Stage 2 statements

Pupils are taught to: